To My Mom

I was going through my camera roll and I saw this picture of my mom with my kids. This was taken when she surprised me with a visit before Christmas last year because she knew how down I was not being around my family for the holidays. She dropped everything and flew out to me because that is the kind of person she is. She is so selfless and caring and she is truly an inspiration to me. She was a single mom working her ass off to care for and provide a nurtring environment for my brother and me. She had a firm hand that I hated, but I am so thankful for now. She listens to me speak about my life and my struggles and victories without judgement. She kicked Cancer’s ass with grace and dignity and I am in awe of her. She might look back at her journey through life so far and see herself doing what she had to do, but I see a fierce, independent warrior making her struggles her bitch. She is beautiful, kind, sarcastic, hilarious, a ridiculously talented bargain shopper, but most of all, she is my mom. She has taught me so much, and I am eager to learn even more. I will never be able to thank her enough for everything that she has done for me and given up for me. As a mother myself now, I understand a little bit better, and I appreciate her so much more. I love you so much, Mom.

Leave a Reply

